

Minutes for the PRSCO Council Meeting, Loja

Date and time: Wednesday July 23rd, 2014, 15:00-16:00PM Meeting Place: Hostería "El Descanso del Toro" in Vilcabamba

- a) Apologies received, roll-call, and confirmation of Section representatives Budy Resosudarmo referred us to the list.
- b) Minutes of the PRSCO Council Meeting in Atlanta, Thursday November 14th, 2013 (B. Resosudarmo)

The minutes was accepted.

c) Report on the 13th PRSCO Summer Institute , 2014, Ecuador (Ronny)

Ronny reported this meeting was successful. 162 papers were submitted and 118 papers were accepted. 70% from Ecuador and 30 % from other countries. Budy says we appreciate the works of the LOC for the PRSCO Summer Institute.

- d) The venue of the 14th PRSCO Summer Institute in 2016 (Shibusawa, Sutee Anantsuksomsri) As a representative of the LOC of Thailand, Shibusawa presented a draft proposal. Two venues (Thammasat University and Chulalongkorn University) were proposed. Chair is Dr. Nij Tontisirin of Thammasat University. Proposed date is 20-22 July 2016. The proposal was approved. There are 2 suggestions from the council, however. Haynes suggests that one venue is better and more convenient for participants. Jean think that the venue in Chulalongkorn University might be more convenient since it is in the middle of the city and it is surrounding with many hotels.
- e) The venue of the 25th Pacific Conference of the RSAI in 2017 (B. Resosudarmo, Mohd Yusof Kasim)

Budy reports briefly preparation of Malaysian section. Budy met and discussed about the meeting with Kasim, Hajinoor, and Yusuf in Kuala Lumpur. They accepted to host the regular meeting in 2017. The LOC intended to present a proposal at the canceled meeting in Ayutthaya. The LOC will present a proposal at the next PRSCO Council Meeting in Washington D.C.

f) Discussion of venues of the PRSCO Conference and Summer Institute in 2018-2021 (B. Resosudarmo)

Several places of the PRSCO Summer Institute 2018 were proposed, Philippine, Vietnam, Singapore, Peru, and Bolivia. Budy has a connection to Singapore, the Philippines and Vietnam. Budy says we should continue to make contact with these countries. Hayes says Taiwan section had not held a meeting for a long time. Taiwan could be a possible venue for the PRSCO regular meeting in 2019.

g) Nomination of the PRSCO Representative for the RSAI Council for the term 2015-2017 (B. Resosudarmo)

Patricio Aroca (2009-2011, 2012-2014), Jichung Yang (2013-2015) Yuzuru Miyata (2014-2016)

Jean says Patricio cannot be extended since the maximum term to be as a PRSCO Representative for the RSAI Council is 2 times. Jean will confirm this rule with the RSAI constitution. We discuss it again in the next PRSCO Council meeting.

h) Nomination of the vice-president of the PRSCO, 2014-2015 (B. Resosudarmo)

Chilean section organizes the regular meeting in 2015. A vice-president will be nominated from the Chilean section. Councilors of Chilean section did not come to this time, then we will nominate it in

the next PRSCO Council meeting.

i) Establishment of the PRSCO Awards (J. Madden)

Budy explains a message from John Madden. John suggests that the Council sets up a committee for deciding who will receive the Higano Award and who will receive the PRSCO Prize for Best Paper by a Young Regional Scientist in .2015 Meeting in Chile.

For the Higano Award (PRSCO Award for Outstanding service), four committee members are proposed. The current PRSCO president as a chairperson (Budy) and the immediate-past president (Yang) were selected by the guideline. Budy and Haynes say the third is Higano and the fourth is Rachel. Budy will contact Higano and Rachel asking their willingness to be in the committee.

For the PRSCO Prize for Best Paper by Young Regional Scientist, six committee members are proposed. Budy says John Madden (ANZRSAI) is Prize Committee Chairperson. Miyata (JSRSAI) is a committee member as a Regional Editor of RSPP. Two others will be from the PRSCO Meeting Scientific Committee in Chile and so we will pick up later after knowing who will be in PRSCO Meeting Scientific Committee in Chile. For the last two, Haynes suggests the following options: Poot (ANZRSAI), Luis (ACER), Richard (CRSA) and Roger (WRSA). We will check their availabilities and we will decide it in the next meeting.

j) Procedure for affiliation to the PRSCO (RSAI) of Ecuador Section

Budy explains the procedure and guideline for affiliation to the PRSCO. Jean also says the procedure for affiliation to the RSAI. Ronny says Ecuador section will prepare some documents and submit these documents together with a letter of request to be affiliated with RSAI to Jean. We will confirm this affiliation in the next PRSCO Council meeting in Washington.

k) Any further business

- 1) The next PRSCO Council meeting at Washington D.C.
- 2) AMECIDER

Roberta Gonzales makes a report on meetings and activities in Mexico. In 2015, they plan to have a large conference celebrating their 20th year anniversary.

- RSAI Universal Membership Thill says each section of the RSAI have to pay the universal membership fee. In PRSCO, three sections do not pay.
- We will ask SOCHER to present their plan for the next PRSCO Conference in the next PRSCO Council in Washington. Particularly we need the date of the next PRSCO Conference.

Present

Budy Resosudarmo (PRSCO president) Jean-Claude Thill (RSAI president) Kingsley Haynes (WRSA) and Spouse Yuzuru Miyata (JSRSAI) Akio Matsumoto (JSRSAI) Roberto Gonzales (AMECIDER) Ronny Correa Quezada (Ecuador) Tangya Tandazo Arias (Ecuador) Gonzalo Leonardo Izquierdo Montoya (Ecuador) Paul Cahen (Ecuador) Hiroyuki Shibusawa (JSRSAI)

Apologies received:

Rachel Franklin (WRSA), Fu-Chuan Lai (CRSA-T), Jen-Jia Lin (CRSA-T), Anping Chen (China)
Jacques Poot (ANZRSAI), Yoshiro Higano (JSRSAI), Suminori Tokunaga (JSRSAI), Mohd Yusof Kasim (MRSA)
Sutee Anantsuksomsri (Thailand), Nij Tontisirin (Thammasat University, Thailand)
Mohd Shukri HAJINOOR (MRSA), Lay J. Gibson (WRSA), David Edgington (CRSA)
Paul Dalziel (ANZRSAI), Yuyuan Wen (China), Chitta Ranjan Pathak (IRSA)
Patricio Aroca (SOCHER), Daigee Shaw (CRSA-T), Dusan Paredes (SOCHER)
Roger Stough (WRSA), Zeng Wang (China), Mohd Shukri HAJINOOR (MRSA)
Maisarah Ahmad (MRSA), Michael C. Carroll (Editor RSPP)
Jichung Yang(KRSA), Yuyuan Wen (China), Geoffrey J.D. Hewings(NARSC)